Portfolio of services

VRVis is Austria's leading institute for applied research in visual computing and has earned international acclaim for its work. We develop solutions and prototypes to meet our customers' exact requirements – solutions and prototypes that go on to have a direct bearing on challenges that trade and industry are currently facing.

Visualisation helps make decisions

Vast quantities of data are collected via numerous sensors, imaging systems in medicine and photography, geoinformation systems, calculations such as simulations – even social networks and everyday office work. Over the next few years, we expect to see a further increase in the volume of data we handle, which will be driven by the "Internet of Things" along with various other factors. If we are to derive any benefit from this data – such as being able to optimise processes in trade and industry or gain new insights or develop new ideas and process models – it will be absolutely vital to have it analysed and evaluated. Visual computing is the solution to this very problem.

The spectrum of services we offer our customers ranges from optimising technologies, processes and solutions through to manufacturing prototypes. Our services are aimed not only at industrial enterprises and service providers of any size but also at government and society.


Benefit from the expertise of VRVis

Industrial enterprises and services providers of any size stand to benefit from VRVis's comprehensive knowledge, consummate software skills and many years of experience. VRVis can also bring its specialist expertise to bear for small and medium-sized companies that do not have their own R&D departments, by providing them with research services and building prototypes which can then be used to develop innovative custom solutions. VRVis's overriding business objective is to actively collaborate with partners from trade and industry in order to develop products and proposals together. It is for this reason that VRVis works closely with the Vienna and Graz Universities of Technology, the University of Vienna, as well as with a whole host of other international research centres such as the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (ETHZ), translating the findings of our basic research into ready-to-use prototypes and innovations for the industry.

What we offer:

  • Research and feasibility analysis
  • Consulting projects
  • Application-led research and development
  • Custom solutions

VRVis comprises not only high-level researchers and experts in the field of visual computing – its staff also offer advice and support in matters of funding and the financing of projects:

  • Choosing the right funding scheme
  • Help with writing applications
  • Project management
  • Reporting to the funding body

Scientific Research

A main aspect of VRVis services is scientific research. VRVis strives actively to advance the state-of-the-art in its fields through active basic research conducted together with scientific partners. Numerous awards as well as publications at the top international conferences confirm the high standard of our work. Young researchers often do their master or PhD thesis at VRVis, thus earning their first research experiences and successes. The results of the basic research are the foundation for the following applied research projects.


Applied industrial research

With basic research as the first key pillar in our range of services, the second key pillar is applied research with a clear focus on industrial applications. Staff at VRVis are trained to "speak the language" of each of our different partners in industry in order to act as the perfect intermediary between them and universities. They can tailor the wide range of project services they offer the industry partner they are working with to suit their needs, from making a research prototype through to its direct implementation in the company's software architecture. VRVis attaches great importance to running research projects within clients' budgets and time frames.


Software Platforms

Long years of intensive research have led to a large number of software components that have developed into platforms and now provide an effective basis for many innovative projects. The fields of application range from high-performance visual computing and biomedical visualisation through to data analysis tools and the evaluation of simulation results.

The following VRVis software platforms are being used in a number of application-oriented projects:

  • Brain* for management, analysis and visualisation in eScience
  • Aardvark for smart modelling, photogrammetric reconstruction and interactive presentation
  • Visplore for validation, analysis and decision making on the basis of multivariate data
  • Visdom combines visualization, simulation, and analysis techniques to assist decision making in the geospatial domain.

eScience Software Platform Brain*

Understanding how the brain works is one of the biggest challenges addressed by neuroscience. This research is highly data intensive and requires dedicated software infrastructures to enable and accelerate the discovery of the complex interplay of genes, structure and function.

Brain* is a complete software suite supporting image based neural circuit research at all stages. It provides a complete integrated software infrastructure supporting data management from image alignment (BrainWarp), storage (BrainBase), publication (BrainBaseSync), quality control and data visualisation (BrainGazer) through to information retrieval and knowledge discovery in large and dynamically growing data sets of confocal images and related annotated structures (BrainMining). The framework has been designed to handle extremely large amounts of image data in a stable manner and ensures fast semantic and spatial accessibility of all stored data. Brain* has been initially developed by VRVis in cooperation with the Institute of Molecular Pathology in Vienna, where it provides the IT ecosystem for drosophila research.

Link: Braingazer.org


Visual Computing Software Platform Aardvark

VRVis projects can draw from a huge treasury of existing software components; we don’t have to keep re-inventing the wheel. Aardvark combines know-how from many VRVis projects into a powerful framework of programs and libraries for a variety of applications in the field of visual computing. Aardvark can be applied in a whole range of areas. They include intelligent geometrical reconstruction and modelling tools, physically accurate lighting design in real time, as well as conventional visualisations of infrastructure projects and planetary scans from NASA missions.

Components from Aardvark enable users to save time and focus more quickly on the essentials. In turn, projects based on Aardvark extend this resource framework by adding new components, thereby creating an extraordinary software database, some of which is available as open source. A wide range of users and projects thus guarantee the smooth functionality of the complex algorithms. Aardvark consists of 100 libraries for use in fields such as mathematics, physics, computer vision, image processing and photogrammetric reconstruction.

Link: Aardvark


Visual Analytics Software Platform Visplore

Visplore is a software technology for the efficient implementation of customised analysis applications. Flexible and combinable visualisations, interactions and calculations open up a completely new form of ‘dialogue with data’. This enables human knowledge, intuition and visual perception to be combined with the computing power of modern IT, so that the growing flood of data can be used to improve understanding and decision-making – comprehensively, profoundly, and in real time. Current applications range from energy supply, engine development, production and health economics through to aviation.

Typical fields of use within these areas include data validation, support in statistical modelling, e.g. for validating and selecting forecast models, and sensitivity analysis of indicators in terms of changing parameters. As a result, the causes of defective components in production, or inaccuracies in forecasting energy use, can be identified and clearly communicated in just a few minutes. As well as its flexibility and performance, Visplore features unique visualisation technologies which have won awards at international conferences. The latest research results in the field of visual analytics help users gain decisive insights and facilitate more reliable decision-making.

Link: Visplore


Decison Support Software Platform Visdom

Decision-making in complex situations is a major success factor in economy, industry and society. The challenge here is the huge amount of complex, heterogeneous information that needs to be taken into account.

Visdom combines the simulation, visualisation and interactive analysis of results in a single application, which enables the intuitive implementation and comparison of multiple simulation runs. The rapid decision-making procedures developed in Visdom by way of example for flood management can be adapted and applied to many other areas, for instance for fighting large fires, for traffic simulations or for evacuation planning. The scenarios can be compared on-screen and a robust, workable solution can be found quickly for the situation in question. The combination of simulation and visualisation within a single tool provides intuitive user guidance. Visdom is being developed in a series of research projects by VRVis Vienna and the Institut für Wasserbau und Ingenieurshydrologie (Institute for Hydraulic Engineering and Engineering Hydrology) at the Vienna University of Technology.

Link: Visdom


Industrial Applications

Visual computing is an interdisciplinary technology. This means that there is no fixed industrial field in which the findings of research will be used, but rather that they can be applied in any and all markets that make use of computer graphics. Below is a list detailing examples of areas in which we work in both research and industry.

Industry and manufacturing

  • Overview of big production data for improved quality management
  • Process optimization by visual analysis of correlations, trends, and anomalies
  • Detailed comparison of products, plants, process settings, ...
  • Quality assurance in production processes through Computer Vision and Machine Learning

Automotive Industries

  • Interactive visual analysis of data obtained from simulations to optimise engines
  • Volume visualisation to test parts of materials without damaging them
  • Flow visualisation for various different particle imaging techniques
  • Realistic rendering for depicting the interiors of cars

Infrastructure building, operation and maintenance, traffic solutions

  • 3D reconstruction of objects using data obtained from scanned images and laser scans
  • Visualisation of large areas (cities, sections of motorways, railway lines, building complexes, etc.)
  • Linking three-dimensional objects with meta data, e.g. visitor numbers, access roads, visibility analysis
  • Realistic depiction of vegetation and the effect of lighting
  • Flood management
  • Visualization of sensor-data within tunnels

Medicine and biotechnology

  • Volume visualisation of data taken from medical studies
  • Imaging process for biotechnological research
  • Segmentation
  • Operations planning and training

Energy

  • Overview of many time series for efficient data quality assessment
  • Plausibility check of time series from production, consumption, meteorology, trade, ...
  • Validation and optimization of forecast models by identification of dependencies and structural breaks
  • Detailed analysis of anomalies, clusters, and trends

Cultural heritage and creative industries

  • Tactile and 3D technologies in art and culture
  • Reconstruction and depiction of objects of historical importanc
  • Animations
  • Presentations

Visual computing is also used in...

  • Virtual and augmented reality
  • Safety research
  • Fluid mechanics
  • Film and television
  • Man-machine interaction, etc.

Leistungsportfolio

VRVis ist Österreichs führende und international anerkannte Einrichtung für angewandte Forschung im Bereich Visual Computing. Lösungen und Prototypen werden von uns nach kundenspezifischen Anforderungen entwickelt und haben direkten Bezug zu aktuellen Aufgabenstellungen in Wirtschaft und Industrie.

Visualisierung schafft Entscheidungsgrundlagen

Durch die Vielzahl an Sensoren, bildgebenden Systemen in Medizin und Fototechnik, Geoinformationssystemen, durch Berechnungen wie Simulationen aber auch durch soziale Netzwerke und der täglichen Büroarbeit werden Unmengen an Daten gesammelt. In den nächsten Jahren wird mit einem weiteren Anstieg der Datenflut, auch getrieben durch das „Internet of Things“ gerechnet. Um Nutzen aus diesen Daten ziehen zu können, Abläufe in der Industrie und Wirtschaft zu verbessern, neue Ideen oder Erkenntnisse und Prozess-Modelle entwickeln zu können, ist die Analyse und Auswertung dieser Daten eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung. Visual Computing versteht sich als Antwort auf dieses Problem.

Für unsere Kunden entwickeln und optimieren wir Technologien, Verfahren und Lösungen bis hin zur Herstellung von Prototypen. Das Leistungsangebot richtet sich an die Industrie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen jeder Größe sowie an Staat und Gesellschaft.


Profitieren vom Know-how des VRVis

Industrie- und Dienstleistungsunternehmen jeder Größe profitieren vom umfangreichen Wissen, der Software-Kompetenz und Erfahrung des VRVis. Auch für kleine und mittlere Unternehmen ohne eigene F & E-Abteilung ist VRVis ein wichtiger Lieferant für innovatives Know-how. VRVis entwickelt für sie Prototypen, darauf aufbauende innovative Individuallösungen und erbringt forschungsbezogene Dienstleistungen. Gemeinsame Entwicklung und intensive Kooperation mit den Partnern aus Wirtschaft und Industrie ist ureigenstes Geschäftsfeld des VRVis. VRVis kooperiert dabei eng mit den Technischen Universitäten in Wien und Graz, der Universität Wien sowie auch einer Reihe von internationalen Forschungseinrichtungen wie beispielsweise der ETH-Zürich und setzt dabei die Ergebnisse aus der Grundlagenforschung in anwendungsreife Prototypen und Innovationen für die Industrie um.

Unser Angebot:

  • Recherche und Machbarkeitsstudien
  • Consultingprojekte
  • Anwendungsorientierte Forschung und Entwicklung
  • Kundenspezifische Lösungen

VRVis leistet nicht nur hochwertige Forschung und bietet Know-how im Bereich Visual Computing, sondern offeriert auch Unterstützung und Beratung in Förderangelegenheiten und in deren Umsetzung in Projekten an:

  • Auswahl des passenden Förderinstruments
  • Unterstützung bei der Antragserstellung
  • Projektmanagement
  • Reporting gegenüber dem Fördergeber

Wissenschaftliche Forschung

Ein Hauptaspekt der Leistungen am VRVis umfasst die wissenschaftliche Forschung. Durch engagierte Grundlagenforschung in Zusammenarbeit mit wissenschaftlichen Partnern ist das VRVis bestrebt, den aktuellen Stand der Forschung aktiv voranzutreiben. Zahlreiche Auszeichnungen sowie Publikationen auf den wichtigsten Konferenzen bestätigen das internationale Topniveau der Arbeiten. Auch junge ForscherInnen haben die Möglichkeit im Rahmen von VRVis-Projekten ihre wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten zu schreiben und so erste Forschungserfolge zu erzielen. Die Ergebnisse der Grundlagenforschung sind die Basis für industrienahe Forschungsprojekte.


Angewandte Industrieforschung

Neben der Grundlagenforschung ist die angewandte Forschung mit klaren industriellen Umsetzungszielen die zweite wichtige Säule des Leistungsportfolios. Die MitarbeiterInnen des VRVis sind darauf trainiert die "Sprache" der jeweiligen Industriepartner zu sprechen und können so optimal als ÜbersetzerInnen zwischen Universität und Industrie dienen. Je nach Bedarf der Industriepartner wird vom Forschungsprototyp bis hin zur direkten Implementierung in das Softwareframework der Unternehmen eine breite Palette an Projektmöglichkeiten geboten. VRVis legt großen Wert auf die zeit- und kostenexakte Abwicklung von Forschungsprojekten.


Software Plattformen

Die langjährige und intensive Forschungsarbeit hat zu einer Vielzahl an Softwarebausteinen geführt, aus denen sich Plattformen entwickelt haben, die nun als effektive Basis für viele innovative Projekte dienen. Die Anwendungsgebiete reichen von High-Performance Visual Computing über biomedizinische Visualisierung bis zu Datenanalysewerkzeugen und Auswertung von Simulationsergebnissen.

Folgende VRVis Software-Plattformen werden in zahlreichen anwendungsorientierten Projekten eingesetzt:

  • Brain* für Management, Analyse und Visualisierung im eScience Bereich
  • Aardvark für Smart Modeling, fotogrammetrische Rekonstruktion und interaktive Darstellung
  • Visplore zur Plausibilisierung, Analyse und Entscheidungsfindung von multivariaten Daten
  • Visdom kombiniert Visualisierungs-, Simulations- und Analysetechniken zur Unterstützung von Entscheidungsfindungen im geografisch bezogenen Anwendungsbereich.

eScience Software-Plattform Brain*

Zu verstehen, wie das Gehirn arbeitet, ist eine der größten Herausforderungen für die Neurowissenschaften. Die Forschung auf diesem Gebiet ist sehr datenintensiv und erfordert spezielle Softwareinfrastrukturen, um ein besseres Verständnis für das komplexe Zusammenspiel von Genen, Struktur und Funktion des Gehirns zu gewinnen.

Das umfassende Programmpaket Brain* ist ein wichtiges Werkzeug für die bildbasierte Gehirnforschung. Die integrierte Softwareinfrastruktur unterstützt das Datenmanagement von der Bildausrichtung (BrainWarp) über die Speicherung (BrainBase), Publikation (BrainBaseSync), Qualitätskontrolle und Datenvisualisierung (BrainGazer) bis hin zur Informationsgewinnung und Wissenserschließung in großen, dynamisch wachsenden Datensätzen von Konfokalbildern und zugehörigen annotierten Strukturen (BrainMining). Brain* ermöglicht die stabile Bearbeitung von extrem großen Bilddatenmengen sowie schnellen semantischen und räumlichen Zugriff auf sämtliche gespeicherten Daten. Das Programmpaket wurde ursprünglich von VRVis in Kooperation mit dem Forschungsinstitut für Molekulare Pathologie in Wien entwickelt, wo es als IT-Ökosystem in der Drosophila-Forschung zum Einsatz kommt.

Link: Braingazer.org


Visual Computing Software Plattform Aardvark

VRVis-Projekte können aus einem riesigen Fundus an existierenden Softwarebausteinen schöpfen. Das Rad muss nicht immer wieder neu erfunden werden. Bei Aardvark fließt Know-how aus vielen VRVis-Projekten zu einem mächtigen Framework aus Programmen und Bibliotheken für unterschiedlichste Anwendungen im Bereich Visual Computing zusammen. Aardvark wird in den unterschiedlichsten Bereichen eingesetzt. Diese reichen von intelligenten geometrischen Rekonstruktions- und Modellierungstools, über physikalisch korrekte Lichtplanung in Echtzeit bis hin zu klassischen Visualisierungen von Infrastrukturvorhaben oder planetarischen Scans aus NASA-Missionen.

Wer Bausteine aus Aardvark verwendet, spart Zeit und kann sich schneller auf das Wesentliche konzentrieren. Projekte, die auf Aardvark aufbauen, erweitern das Framework mit neuen Komponenten und auf diese Weise entsteht eine außergewöhnliche Softwarebasis die teilweise sogar als Open Source zur Verfügung steht. Damit garantieren eine Vielzahl an BenutzerInnen und Projekten eine reibungslose Funktionsweise der komplexen Algorithmen. Aardvark besteht aus 100 Basisbibliotheken, deren Einsatzspektren von Mathematik über Physik, Computer Vision bis hin zu Bildverarbeitung und fotogrammetrischer Rekonstruktion reichen.

Link: Aardvark


Visual Analytics Software-Plattform Visplore

Visplore ist eine Softwaretechnologie, die eine effiziente Realisierung maßgeschneiderter Analyseapplikationen erlaubt. Flexibel kombinierbare Visualisierungen, Interaktionen und Berechnungen machen einen völlig neuartigen „Dialog mit den Daten“ möglich. So können menschliches Wissen, Intuition und visuelle Wahrnehmung mit der Rechenpower moderner IT kombiniert werden, um die wachsende Datenflut zur Verbesserung von Verständnis und Entscheidungssicherheit zu nützen – umfassend, tiefgehend und dennoch in Echtzeit. Die bisherigen Anwendungsbereiche reichen von Energieversorgung über Motorenentwicklung, Produktion und Gesundheitsökonomie bis hin zur Luftfahrt.

Typische Einsatzbereiche in diesen Anwendungsfeldern sind Datenplausibilisierung, die Unterstützung von statistischer Modellbildung etwa zur Validierung und Auswahl von Prognosemodellen und die Sensitivitätsanalyse von Kennzahlen bezüglich der Veränderung von Parametern. So konnten in wenigen Minuten die Ursachen für Bauteilfehler in einer Produktion oder für nicht ausreichende Prognosequalität im Energiebereich identifiziert und anschaulich kommuniziert werden. Neben der Flexibilität und Performance zeichnen Visplore dabei einzigartige und in internationalen Fachtagungen ausgezeichnete Visualisierungstechniken aus. Aktuelle Forschungsergebnisse im Bereich Visual Analytics verhelfen den Nutzern so zu einem Gewinn entscheidender Erkenntnisse und zu mehr Entscheidungssicherheit.

Link: Visplore


Decison Support Software-Plattform Visdom

Entscheidungsfindung in komplexen Situationen ist ein wesentlicher Erfolgsfaktor in Wirtschaft, Industrie und Gesellschaft. Die Herausforderung liegt dabei in der enormen Menge an komplexen, heterogenen Informationen, die dabei berücksichtigt werden müssen.

Visdom kombiniert Simulation, Visualisierung und interaktive Analyse der Ergebnisse in einer einzigen Anwendung, wodurch ein intuitives Aufsetzen und Vergleichen von mehreren Simulationsläufen möglich wird. Die in Visdom exemplarisch für das Hochwassermanagement entwickelten Verfahren zur raschen Entscheidungsfindung können für viele weitere Bereiche adaptiert und angewendet werden, beispielsweise zur Bekämpfung von großflächigen Bränden, Verkehrssimulationen oder der Planung von Evakuierungsmaßnahmen. Am Bildschirm sind die Szenarien vergleichbar und es kann eine für die jeweilige Situation robuste Lösung, die funktioniert, gefunden werden. Die Kombination von Simulation und Visualisierung in einem Werkzeug ermöglicht eine intuitive Benutzerführung.Visdom wird in einer Reihe von Forschungsprojekten von VRVis Wien und dem Institut für Wasserbau und Ingenieurshydrologie an der Technischen Universität in Wien entwickelt.

Link: Visdom


Industrielle Anwendungsfelder

Visual Computing ist eine Querschnittstechnologie. Dies bedeutet, dass es nicht einen fixen Industriebereich für die Anwendung der Forschungsergebnisse gibt, sondern vielmehr zahlreiche Märkte, die das Werkzeug Computergraphik einsetzen. Im folgenden finden Sie eine beispielhafte Auflistung, die die Kombination von Forschungs- und Industriebereichen zeigt.

Industrie und Fertigung

  • Überblicken großer Produktionsdaten für verbessertes Qualitätsmanagement
  • Prozessoptimierungen durch visuelle Korrelations-, Trend-, und Ausreißeranalysen
  • Detaillierter Vergleich von Produkten, Werken, Prozesseinstellungen, ...
  • Qualitätssicherung in Produktionsprozessen durch Computer Vision und Machine Learning

Automobilindustrie

  • Interaktive visuelle Analyse von Simulationsdatensätzen zur Optimierung von Motoren
  • Volumensvisualisierung zur zerstörungsfreien Überprüfung von Werkstoffteilen
  • Strömungsvisualisierung für diverse Partikeldarstellungen
  • Realistisches Rendering zur Darstellung von Autoinnenräumen

Infrastrukturerbauer, -betreiber und -erhalter, Verkehrslösungen

  • 3D Rekonstruktion von Objekten aufgrund von Bild- und Laserscandaten
  • Visualisierung von großen Arealen (Städte, Autobahnabschnitte, Bahntrassen, Gebäudekomplexe)
  • Verknüpfung von räumlichen Objekten mit Metadaten wie z.B. Besucherströme, Zufahrtswege, Sichtbarkeitsanalysen
  • Realistische Darstellung von Vegetation und Beleuchtungseffekten
  • Hochwassermanagement
  • Visualisierung von Sensordaten im Tunnelbereich

Medizin und Biotech

  • Volumensvisualisierung von medizinischen Datensätzen
  • Bildgebende Verfahren für die Biotech Forschung
  • Segmentierung
  • Operationsplanung und -schulung

Energie

  • Effizientes Überblicken vieler Zeitreihen hinsichtlich Datenqualität
  • Plausibilisieren von Zeitreihen für Erzeugung, Verbrauch, Wetter, Preise, ...
  • Validierung und Optimierung von Prognosemodellen durch Identifikation von Einflussfaktoren und Strukturbrüchen
  • Detailanalyse von Datenanomalien, Clustern, Trends

Cultural Heritage und Creative Industries

  • Taktile und auf 3D-Technologien im Bereich Kunst und Kultur
  • Rekonstruktion und Darstellung von historisch wertvollen Objekten
  • Animationen
  • Präsentationen

Weitere Anwendungsgebiete von Visual Computing sind ...

  • Virtual und Augmented Reality
  • Sicherheitsforschung
  • Robotik
  • Ströhmungslehre
  • Film und Fernsehen,
  • Mensch-Maschine-Interaktion, u.v.m.