Dr. Elena Ginina

Dr. Elena Ginina studied theoretical and mathematical Physics at the University of Sofia. Later on she pursued her PhD studies at the Institute for Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy (INRNE) of the Bulgarian Academy of Sciences, focusing on theoretical Particle Physics. She was honoured for her excellent academic records with the stipend of the Faculty of Physics in the years 2000, 2001 and 2002.

In September 2008 Elena Ginina was awarded a two-years Maria Curie postdoctoral fellowship at the Institute of High Energy Physics (HEPHY) of the Austrian Academy of Sciences in Vienna. Over the next six years she worked on two further scientific projects funded by the Austrian Science Fund (FWF) at the University of Vienna and HEPHY. Her main research was devoted to theoretical High Energy Physics and its phenomenology at the present and future colliders. Her projects were computing intensive and involved processing of big scientific data and vast numerical simulation analyses. She wrote and published large number of papers in leading international scientific journals as well as in conference proceedings. A complete list of her publications can be found here.

Elena Ginina participated in different international mobility and networking programs and gave many talks and presentations at major national and international conferences, seminars and various outreach activities.

In the fall of 2015 she was invited as a discussion leader at the European School of High Energy Physics, organized yearly by the European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) and the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR). Elena Ginina was a lecturer and tutor at the International Master classes in Particle Physics, as well as the HEPHY pupil's master classes in Vienna, Graz and Wels. She is a reviewer for the International Journal of Modern Physics A (IJMPA) and the Journal of Particle Physics (JPP).

In the year 2017 Elena Ginina took a career curve and obtained additional qualifications in Machine Learning and computational Data Science techniques. Since the 1st of January 2018 she is leading the Data Science unit at VRVis.

Research interests

Elena Ginina’s research interests comprise Data analysis and visualisation, Machine learning, Predictive modelling, Artificial Intelligence. She is especially interested in Deep learning algorithms for Visual Computing and Reinforcement learning.

Current Project

Publications

Dr. Elena Ginina

Dr. Elena Ginina studierte theoretische und mathematische Physik an der Universität von Sofia. Anschließend verfolgte sie ihr Doktoratsstudium am Institute for Nuclear Research and Nuclear Energy (INRNE) an der Bulgarischen Akademie der Wissenschaften, mit Fokus auf theoretische Teilchenphysik. Für ihre hervorragenden akademischen Leistungen wurde sie mit dem Stipendium der Faculty of Physics in den Jahren 2000, 2001 and 2002 ausgezeichnet.

Im September 2008 wurde sie mit einem zweijährigen Maria Curie postdoctoral fellowship am Institute of High Energy Physics (HEPHY) der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Wien ausgezeichnet. Hier forschte sie die nächsten sechs Jahre an zwei weiteren Wissenschaftsprojekten an der Universität Wien und HEPHY, die vom Wissenschaftsfonds (FWF) gefördert wurden. Ihre Forschungsschwerpunkte waren die theoretische Hochenergiephysik und ihre Phänomenologie an heutigen und zukünftigen Beschleunigern. Ihre Projekte waren rechenintensiv und umfassten die Verarbeitung großer wissenschaftlicher Daten und umfangreiche numerische Simulationsanalysen. Sie schrieb und veröffentlichte zahlreiche Artikel in führenden internationalen wissenschaftlichen Zeitschriften sowie in Tagungsbänden. Eine vollständige Liste ihrer Publikationen gibt es hier.

Elena Ginina nahm an verschiedenen internationalen Mobilitäts- und Networking-Programmen teil und hielt zahlreiche Vorträge und Präsentationen auf wichtigen nationalen und internationalen Konferenzen, Seminaren sowie bei verschiedenen Outreach-Aktivitäten.

Im Herbst 2015 wurde sie als Diskussionsleiterin an der Europäischen Schule für Hochenergiephysik eingeladen, die jährlich von der European Organization for Nuclear Research (CERN) sowie Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) organisiert wird. Elena Ginina war Vortragende und Tutorin bei den Internationalen Meisterkursen in Teilchenphysik sowie den HEPHY-Meisterkursen in Wien, Graz und Wels. Sie ist Reviewerin für das Internationale Journal für Moderne Physik A (IJMPA) und das Journal of Particle Physics (JPP).

Im Jahr 2017 erwarb Elena Ginina zusätzliche Qualifikationen in Machine Learning und computergestützten Data Science Techniken. Seit dem 1. Januar 2018 leitet sie den Bereich Data Science bei VRVis.

Forschungsinteressen

Elena Gininas Forschungsinteressen umfassen Datenanalyse und -visualisierung, maschinelles Lernen, prädiktive Modellierung, künstliche Intelligenz. Sie ist besonders an Deep Learning-Algorithmen für Visual Computing und Reinforcement Learning interessiert.