KAUST Scene Generator

The road networks of entire city districts can be created with a few clicks, if an elevation model and aerial photographs are available, these are integrated.

The algorithm for intersection generation creates geometrically logical results even from complex original data. Where the corresponding data is available, road markings are also generated.

Der KAUST Scene Generator can be used as a plugin of the OpenStreetMap editor JOSM.

3D model of Mariahilfer Straße, Vienna.

The KAUST Scene Generator is a software that can generate three-dimensional road networks from freely accessible OpenStreetMap data. This means that freely usable but difficult to process geodata will be available in the future as a source of content for driving simulators or as data sets to train self-driving cars.

On behalf of the Saudi Arabian King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST), VRVis has developed software that can generate 3D scenes from open-source geodata. The project's goal was to find ways to generate affordable or even free content for the existing KAUST driving simulator. What is special about the prototype of the KAUST Scene Generator written in Python is that, for the first time, data from the free geoinformatics platform OpenStreetMap is processed in such a way that comprehensive 3D generation is possible. Furthermore, data from height maps as well as satellite or aerial images can be integrated into the calculation, which enables an even more realistic 3D model. The most innovative feature of the KAUST Scene Generator is the creation of roads and intersections: OpenStreetMap uses a graph display in which streets are displayed as sequences of points with attributes and in which, as a rule, no specific street widths are available. Despite challenges like these, the KAUST Scene Generator automatically calculates curve roundings and geometrically logical intersection solutions.

The 3D models of the KAUST Scene Generator are optimized for Unreal Engine 4, in which the already existing KAUST driving simulator was programmed, but can also be easily exported to a number of other formats, which opens up further fields of application in addition to their use in various simulation settings. For example, computer-generated road networks could serve in the future as cost-effective alternatives or additions to the training of self-driving cars or as scenarios for personalized computer game worlds.

Further information about the KAUST Scene Generator

Video: 3D model for driving simulators: on the road at the Viennese Mariahilfer Straße

KAUST Scene Generator

Das Straßennetz für ganze Stadtteile kann mit wenigen Klicks erzeugt werden, wenn ein Höhenmodell und Luftbilder vorhanden sind, werden diese integriert.

Der Algorithmus für die Generierung von Kreuzungen erzeugt auch aus komplexen Ursprungsdaten geometrisch sinnvolle Ergebnisse. Wo die entsprechenden Daten vorhanden sind werden auch Straßenmarkierungen generiert.

Der KAUST Scene Generator kann als Plugin des OpenStreetMap-Editors JOSM verwendet werden.

3D-Straßenmodell der Mariahilfer Straße.

Der KAUST Scene Generator ist eine Software, die aus frei zugänglichen OpenStreetMap-Daten dreidimensionale Straßennetze generieren kann. Damit werden frei nutzbare, jedoch schwer weiterzuverarbeitende Geodaten zukünftig als Content-Grundlage für Fahrsimulatoren oder als Datensätze zum Training selbstfahrender Autos verfügbar.

Im Auftrag der saudi-arabischen King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST) hat VRVis eine Software entwickelt, die aus Open-Source-Geodaten 3D-Szenen generieren kann. Ziel des Projekts war es, Wege zu finden, kostengünstig oder sogar kostenlos Content für den bereits existierenden KAUST Fahrsimulator zu erzeugen. Das Besondere am in Python geschriebenen Prototypen des KAUST Scene Generators ist, dass damit erstmals Daten der freien Geoinformatik-Plattform OpenStreetMap so aufbereitet werden, dass eine flächendeckende 3D-Generierung möglich wird. Weiters können Daten aus Höhenkarten sowie Satelliten- oder Luftbildern in die Berechnung integriert werden, was ein noch realistischeres 3D-Modell ermöglicht. Innovativ am KAUST Scene Generator ist vor allem auch die Erstellung von Straßen und Kreuzungen: OpenStreetMap nutzt eine Graphendarstellung, in welcher Straßen als mit Attributen versehene Folgen von Punkten dargestellt werden und bei der in der Regel keine konkreten Straßenbreiten vorhanden sind. Trotz Herausforderungen wie dieser errechnet der KAUST Scene Generator automatisch Kurvenrundungen und geometrisch sinnvolle Kreuzungs-Lösungen.

Die 3D-Modelle des KAUST Scene Generator sind für Unreal Engine 4, in der der bereits existierende KAUST Fahrsimulator programmiert wurde, optimiert, können aber auch ganz unkompliziert in etliche andere Formate exportiert werden, was neben dem Einsatz in verschiedenen Simulations-Settings weitere Einsatzmöglichkeiten eröffnet. Beispielsweise könnten computergenerierte Straßennetze zukünftig als kostengünstige Alternativen bzw. Ergänzungen zum Training von selbstfahrenden Autos genützt werden oder als Szenerien für personalisierte Computerspiel-Welten dienen.

Weitere Informationen über den KAUST Scene Generator

Video: 3D-Modell für Fahrsimulatoren: Unterwegs auf der Mariahilfer Straße