VISIOMICS

The VISIOMICS project partners at the press conference on December 12th, 2017: Lukas Fischer, PhD, D.I.Math. Dr.in Katja Bühler, Dr.in Sabine-Taschner-Mandl, D.I. Florian Kromp, Dr.in med. Inge Ambros, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Peter Ambros (f.l.t.r.)

During the press conference of the project kick-off of VISIOMICS.

The combination of "liquid biopsies", machine learning and data visualization will allow earlier and more accurate prediction of cancer relapse.

In modern tumor diagnostics, quantitative markers from computer-aided image analysis, as well as molecular multi-scale analyzes ("OMICS") have already demonstrated high diagnostic value, e.g. for determining recurrence probabilities. The trend is currently toward low-invasive procedures: liquid biopsies that use blood or bone marrow to extract tumor cells or cell-free DNA. A combination of genome-wide DNA analysis with mRNA expression data and robust image features could significantly improve the accuracy of recurrence predictions, as compared to unimodal analyzes to find previously unknown correlations between data sets / patients. Despite intensive research in this field, currently there are no appropriate methods and platforms for merging image and OMICS data as a prerequisite for the development of certified, clinical analysis workflows. Especially in rare diseases, there is also the problem of incomplete data sets and a small number of samples.

The innovation of VISIOMICS lies

  • in combining and developing methods that enable the preparation, integrative analysis and visualization of multimodal data sources in rare cancers using metastatic neuroblastoma as an example
  • in liquid biopsies, which in unimodal analysis already allow a more precise prediction of the probability of recurrence than the primary tumor and
  • in the development of modules that can be promptly certified as clinical workflows.

To achieve this goal, data sets from clinical, image (multi epitopeligand cartography as well as iFISH) and OMICS data (HD-SNP array, RNA sequencing) from liquid biopsies (disseminated tumor cells) are progressively incorporated, adding expert knowledge and use of bioinformatic and machine learning and visual analytics methods. The interface between the lab, bioinformatics method development and tools for data integration, visualization and user interaction is an established platform that provides a central database and interfaces for certifiable, clinical analysis workflows.

Project role VRVis

The data that form the basis of the research within the framework of the VISIOMICS project are extremely heterogeneous and complex. Recognizing relationships between these data is the first step in building models that allow tumor diagnosis to be refined. In the VISIOMICS project, VRVis is a partner for the development of web-based user interfaces and interactive tools for data visualization and exploration in order to accelerate hypothesis formation and knowledge gain based on existing patient studies. The quantitative visual analytics solutions are developed in dialogue with the VISIOMICS partners and closely linked to the planned automated analysis tools to best support the complex analytical workflows.

Press coverage

VISIOMICS

Projektpartner VISIOMICS bei der Pressekonferenz am 12.12.2017 anlässlich des Kick-offs: Lukas Fischer, PhD, D.I.Math. Dr.in Katja Bühler, Dr.in Sabine-Taschner-Mandl, D.I. Florian Kromp, Dr.in med. Inge Ambros, Assoc. Prof. Dr. Peter Ambros (v.l.n.r.)

Während der Pressekonferenz zum Projekt Kick-off von VISIOMICS.

Die Kombination von „Liquid Biopsies“, maschinellen Lernverfahren und Datenvisualisierung soll eine frühere und genauere Vorhersage eines Rückfalls bei Kindern mit einer Krebserkrankung ermöglichen.

In der modernen Tumordiagnostik haben quantitative Marker aus der computergestützten Bildanalyse, sowie molekulare, multiskalare Analysen („OMICS“) bereits hohen diagnostischen Wert demonstriert, z.B. zur Bestimmung von Rezidiv-Wahrscheinlichkeiten. Der Trend geht derzeit zu gering-invasiven Verfahren, liquid biopsies, die Blut oder Knochenmark zur Extraktion von Tumorzellen oder zellfreier DNA verwenden. Eine Kombination von Genom-weiten DNA-Analyse- mit mRNA Expressionsdaten und robusten Bild-Merkmalen könnte, im Vergleich zu unimodalen Analysen, die Genauigkeit von Rezidiv-Vorhersagen wesentlich verbessern und das Auffinden bisher unbekannter Korrelationen zwischen Datensätzen/Patienten ermöglichen. Trotz intensiver Forschung auf diesem Gebiet, fehlt es derzeit an
geeigneten Methoden und Plattformen für die Zusammenführung von Bild- und OMICS Daten als Voraussetzung für die Entwicklung zertifizierter, klinischer Analyse-Workflows. Insbesondere bei seltenen Erkrankungen kommt das Problem von inkompletten Datensätzen und einer geringen Probenanzahl hinzu.

Die Innovation von VISIOMICS liegt

  • in der Kombination und Entwicklung von Methoden, die die Aufbereitung, integrative Analyse und Visualisierung multimodaler Datenquellen bei seltenen Krebserkrankungen am Beispiel des metastasierenden Neuroblastoms ermöglicht,
  • in liquid biopsies, welche bei unimodaler Analyse bereits eine präzisere Vorhersage der Rezidiv-Wahrscheinlichkeit zulassen als der Primärtumor und
  • in der Entwicklung von Modulen, die zeitnah als klinische Workflows zertifizierbar sind.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, werden Datensätze aus klinischen, Bild- (Multi epitopeligand cartography sowie iFISH) und OMICS Daten (HD-SNP-Array, RNA-Sequenzierung) aus liquid biopsies (Disseminierte Tumorzellen) schrittweise unter Einbeziehung von Expertenwissen und Verwendung bioinformatischer und maschineller Lernverfahren sowie Visual Analytics-Methoden integriert. Die Schnittstelle zwischen Labor, bioinformatischer Methodenentwicklung und Tools zur Datenintegration, Visualisierung und Benutzerinteraktion bildet eine bereits etablierte Plattform, welche zentrale Datenbank und Schnittstellen für zertifizierbare, klinische Analyse Workflows bietet.

Projektrolle VRVis

Die Daten, welche im Rahmen des VISIOMICS Projektes Basis der Forschung bilden, sind extrem heterogen und komplex. Zusammenhänge zwischen diese Daten zu erkennen ist der erste Schritt um Modelle zu bilden, die eine Verfeinerung der Tumordiagnostik ermöglichen. Das VRVis ist im VISIOMICS Projekt Partner für die Entwicklung webbasierter User Interfaces und interaktiven Werkzeugen zur Datenvisualisierung und –exploration, um mit Ihrer Hilfe Hypothesenbildung und Erkenntnisgewinn auf Basis der vorhandenen Patientenstudien zu beschleunigen. Die quantitativen Visual Analytics-Lösungen werden im Dialog mit den VISIOMICS Partnern entwickelt und eng mit den geplanten automatischen Analysetools gekoppelt, um die komplexen analytischen Workflows bestmöglich zu unterstützen.

Berichterstattung